Your conversion rate can be defined as the percentage of users or visitors that complete a specific action. The action can be anything – new signup, a new purchase, a download, etc.
The rate is displayed in percentage and can be very volatile. Plus, it may differ from page to page and product to product.
Let’s say you sell shoes and decide to run a marketing campaign on Facebook that attracts 1,000 visitors. According to the campaign, your conversion rate is 2 percent, which means about 20 of your visitors actually made a purchase.
The aim for every business is to increase the rate. In this article, we’ll explain how to calculate conversion rate and what you can do to increase it.
How to Find Out Conversion Rate
Here’s what Google says:
“Conversion rates are calculated by simply taking the number of conversions and dividing that by the number of total ad interactions that can be tracked to a conversion during the same time period. For example, if you had 50 conversions from 1,000 interactions, your conversion rate would be 5%, since 50 ÷ 1,000 = 5%.”
Use the above formula to calculate your website conversion rate; however, if you have multiple goals then you will have to track them both individually and on the whole.
There are several website conversion rate calculators out there that can make the job easier for you. Consider using one if you find this too complex.
Let’s keep the shoe example in mind. While your main aim is to sell shoes, you also wish to find more subscribers.
Here’s how you’ll calculate each:
- Total conversion: Unique visitors / The number of visitors with any conversion
- Subscriber conversion: Unique visitors / The number of new subscribers
- Shopper conversion: Unique visitors / The number of new customers
As a marketer, you must pay attention to all these figures. Google Analytics and other such tools can provide details including unique visitors.
“I’ve recently become familiar with Google Analytics and it’s helped me understand how to track our visitors and news media,” said Australia’sTech NewsCEO
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What is the Average Conversion Rate for a Website?
The average rate depends on a number of factors including your niche, target device, etc.
Nonetheless, the average rate is between 1 percent and 3 percent only. This means a large majority of your visitors will never take your desired action. This is the norm because not everyone who lands on your site has the intention to purchase.
The number might sound low but it’s pretty good. Let’s say you have 100,000 visitors and your conversion rate is 3 percent. This means about 3,000 of your visitors are making a purchase.
Your aim should be to increase both – your conversion rate and the number of unique visitors. However, keep your expectations low.
You can’t have a 100 percent conversion rate. Even 50 percent is nearly impossible. However, there are ways to improve your conversion rate and hit double digits.
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What is a Good Website Conversion Rate?
Wondering what is a good conversion rate for websites? Let us tell you.
A good conversion rate is between 2 percent and 5 percent.
The thing with conversion rate is that even a jump of 0.5 percent can be a big deal. Moreover, we must mention that the top brands enjoy better results.
Conversion Rate by Industry
Let’s find out what is a good conversion rate for an ecommerce website. In order to truly understand your customers and how to best serve them, you need to track your conversion rate closely legaldrop identify areas where improvements can be made. By doing so, you can unlock new opportunities that may not have otherwise been apparent.
Here’s a small breakdown for a complete understanding of conversion rates in different industries:
As you can see, ecommerce conversion rates are very low especially when compared to finance, especially when you look at the top tier. Similarly, B2B website conversion rates are on the higher side. Learn more about what is a good conversion rate for Shopify.
The rule applies to all tiers, however. Let’s think about legal –if you’re around 4 percent then you’re in the average, if you’re around 6.5 percent then you’re in the top tier, and if you’re around 1 percent then you’re doing poorly.
This chart can help you figure out where you stand. But, we must mention that an ecommerce store with a rate of 3.71 percent might be making more money than a company that offers legal services and enjoys a conversion rate of 6.46 percent.
This is because legal is a niche that does not attract a lot of buyers. Ecommerce, on the other hand, may attract more users.
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Retail Sector ad Conversion Rates
According to this 2020 report, the industry’s average is 3 percent; however, some industries may enjoy a higher or lower conversion rate based on competition and demand. Here’s a breakdown:
|DIY & Tools||1.7%|
|Home Furnishing and Decor||2.3%|
|Jewels and Cosmetics||2.9%|
|Apparel and Footwear||4.2%|
|Health and Pharmacy||4.6%|
This shows how conversion rates may differ for ecommerce. A store that sells gift items may enjoy a higher conversion rate than a store that offers sports goods.
A big ecommerce store that offers multiple products may have different rates for different sections.
Traffic Source and Conversion Rates
According to this Episerver research, conversion rates greatly differ based on source. This is why it is important to know how to calculate conversion rate.
The rate for some pages may be higher or lower than the average website conversion rate. This happens because users who reach your site through a specific channel might be more interested in what you have to offer than users who land on your site randomly.
Here’s a small breakdown:
|Traffic Source||Conversion Rate|
As evident, paid traffic tends to convert better. This is why a large number of businesses buy ad space.
Device and Conversion Rates
We know that a large number of users use mobile devices to browse the web, hence it’s important to know how the rate changes from device to device.
Here’s a small breakdown:
This might come as a surprise to some but mobile users do not convert as well as desktop users do. Hence, mobile website conversion rates can be slightly lower than the typical website conversion rate.
It’s believed this happens because mobile users are often greatly distracted.
5 Tested and Trusted Steps for Calculating Conversion Rate
Image author: Seobility
It’s important to check the website conversion rate and ensure you’re meeting your goals.
Businesses typically use A/B testing to compare two or more options and figure out what works and what doesn’t. You can use Adoric to perform A/B tests to help understand how your website traffic conversion rate reacts to website changes.
Check our A/B Testing: How it Works and Why You Need It article to know more about how you can use this tool to calculate the website conversion rate.
Here are some tests that can be used to figure out what works for your site.
This test involves checking what kind of ad works better, i.e.: pop-ups, in-line ads. This can be a little complicated because some techniques may work better on computers and some may work well on mobile devices.
Businesses use a variety of tactics like special discounts and offer to attract users, however, not all offers may give similar results. It’s important to know what works better, i.e.: a special 10 percent discount for new users or free shipping.
This might come as a surprise to some but something as small as a headline can affect conversions. You can choose from a variety of options, i.e. the size of the heading, the design of the heading, etc.
As mentioned in our How to Create the Perfect Call to Action to Increase Conversions guide, changing the color of your CTA button can greatly affect conversion.
Trigger timing tells when a certain action will occur. A 15-second trigger means the visitor will see an ad after spending 15 seconds on a page.
Trigger timing affects conversion, hence you should consider using this tool to see the difference. You can test this trigger using Adoric with different types of pop-ups. The best part is the fact that email marketing does not have to be expensive. There are a bunch of cheap or sometimes even free mail marketing tools available. With these tools, setting up an email marketing campaign is a lot easier.
How to Improve Your Conversion Rate
Now that you know how to calculate the conversion rate, it is time to talk about what you can do to improve your website conversion rate.
1. Revise and Make a Personalized Offer
Today’s customers want and expect personalization. It’s your duty to gather information and offer customers exactly what they want.
Let’s assume you have an ecommerce store where you sell all kinds of products including shoes, balls, and furniture.
A user searches for ‘best shoes’ and lands on your site where you sell shoes but he or she sees a big banner on top offering furniture at a discount. Even if the discount is massive, the user may not convert because the ad is not personalized.
The visitor is interested in shoes, so you should offer a discount related to shoes. Such personalization can be tricky but it’s possible.
In addition to this, make sure to come up with an offer that’s worth it. Free shipping, for example, can work wonders for ecommerce stores.
Nearly 80 percent of consumers in the US said that they prefer a store that offers free shipping. About 54 percent of buyers look for same day shipping and a large percentage of users are willing to pay more for such services.
Understand your audience, their needs, and craft an offer that they’d be interested in.
2. Consider Cart Abandonment
High cart abandonment is a common problem that ecommerce stores have to deal with.
It refers to a situation when a user lands on your page, selects a product, adds it to the cart, but leaves the site without finalizing the deal.
The visitor may abandon the cart at any time, right after selecting a product, after providing details, or at the last step.
It’s important to pay attention to this figure because the average cart abandonment rate is 79.17 percent. However, just like your conversion rate, your cart abandonment rate also depends on several factors including your niche.
To increase conversion, you must identify what’s causing users to abandon their carts. Here are some of the major reasons:
- Hidden costs
- Having to create an account
- Complex process
- Can’t see total costs
- Site looks unreliable
- Website crashes or errors
- Slow delivery Bad return policy
- Not enough payment options
- Card declines
Some small changes such as adding an SSL certificate, making the process easier, and avoiding additional costs can help improve your conversion rate. Different providers are there who can provide you desired SSL certificates for example, if you are an ecommerce owner then, a cheap ev ssl can be a good deal for your business. It provides strong encryption along with verified business identity.
3. Use Remarketing to Attract Customers
Very few customers will make a purchase on the first visit. They need to trust your site before they are willing to share personal details.
According to some reports, it requires about seven attempts to make a conversion. This is where remarketing comes into play. The technique revolves around marketing your products or services to users who have already interacted with you in the past.
These can be your former clients or visitors who showed interest in what you have to offer.
The interesting thing about remarketing is that about 25 percent of users enjoy seeing them. Plus, users who see such ads are 43 percent more likely to convert.
We must also mention that the clickthrough rate of a retarget ad is about 10x higher than the CTR of your average display ad. Users are more likely to be interested in a product that they know about or were interested in at some point.
Hence, it shouldn’t come as a surprise that retargeted ads offer better conversion rates. However, they are typically more expensive to run.
So, make use of this technique to win customers you think you had lost.
4. Change and Test Over and Over Again
It can be hard to find what works and what doesn’t. The only way to be sure is to run A/B tests, as explained above.
Every small change matters. However, remember that it takes time to see meaningful results. It can take a month or two for results to show. Don’t expect a jump in your conversion rate right away.
Also, some changes may result in a decrease in conversion. If it happens, make sure to go back to what you had been doing.
5. Improve Customer Support
High conversion rate websites typically have excellent customer support. While offline support doesn’t always have an impact on conversion, online support can be very effective with the right online support software.
Make sure to include a FAQ on pages where necessary and cover all important pointers so that users are not left confused.
Also, consider creating a Knowledge Base with answers and guides to help users find what they need.
In addition to this, introduce the live chat feature. It can increase revenue by up to 48 percent and push the conversion rate up to 40 percent.
Bonus Tip: Offer Free Shipping
Offering free shipping can help boost your conversion rate remarkably. But for that to even happen, your customers need to know you offer free shipping in the first place. And what better tool to use for this than Adoric’s free shipping bar tool?
With Adoric’s free bar tool, you can create an attention-grabbing floating bar to promote your free shipping offer.
You don’t even need to start from scratch; just pick a floating bar template and edit/customize it to your heart’s content.
Ready to try out our free shipping bar feature? Sign up for an account right away.
Install Adoric Shopify App
How to Calculate Conversion Rate for Website: Conclusion
Now that you know what a website conversion rate is, and how to calculate it, we’re sure you’d be able to push yours. Follow the tips given in this article and pay attention to the numbers. You will begin to see a difference in no time.
What is a good conversion rate for a blog? ›
Conventional wisdom says that a good conversion rate is somewhere around 2% to 5%. If you're sitting at 2%, an improvement to 4% seems like a massive jump. You doubled your conversion rate! Well, congratulations, but you're still stuck in the average performance bucket.Is 40% a good conversion rate? ›
Research shows that the average conversion rate for brick-and-mortar stores is around 20-40%. That's a good benchmark to compare yours against. However, it's worth noting that your retail conversion rate can fluctuate on different variables.Is a 3% conversion rate good? ›
But here's the thing: That's actually very good. In fact, a “good” website conversion rate falls between 2% and 5% across all industries. Industry-specific conversion rates vary quite a bit more.Is a 7% conversion rate good? ›
If you want to drive a “good” conversion rate from your PPC campaigns, you should set your conversion rate goal to 10% or higher. There are several ways to optimize your PPC campaigns for better conversion rates, including testing different ad copy, targeting, and offers.How do I optimize my blog for conversions? ›
- Calls to Action (CTAs) Without a doubt, calls to action are a must if you want to increase conversions for your blog posts. ...
- Content Offers. ...
- Keyword Optimizations. ...
- Links to Relevant Content. ...
- Social Proof. ...
- Wrapping Up. ...
- Want to Learn More?
How Much Do Bloggers Make Per 1,000 Views? Monetizing a blog with Google AdSense or another advertising platform may provide earnings of about $2 to $5 per 1,000 page views. A blog that receives 10,000 views per day may generate about $20 to $50 in income.What is Amazon's average conversion rate? ›
Amazon's average conversion rate is estimated at between 10% and 15%. This is higher than the average for other eCommerce platforms which is at 1% to 2% depending on the industry. This proves that visitors to Amazon's websites are serious buyers. They are at the bottom of the sales funnel and are ready to buy.What is a good conversion rate by industry? ›
|Industry||Average conversion rate for organic search||Average form rate for organic search|
|Cosmetic and Dental||3.5%||0.7%|
Typically, sites that sell a product or service have 1% to 2% conversion rate. However, this number is significantly higher when it comes to Amazon. The average conversion rate for Amazon listings is 10% to 15%. The rate for Prime members is even higher, at about 74%.Is a 12% conversion rate good? ›
Generally, a 12% conversion rate is pretty good for lead generation landing pages. And by "pretty good," we mean you'll be better than about 90% of your competitors. That's according to our analysis of 64,000+ landing pages across 10 popular customer industries.
How do you find a good conversion rate? ›
Remove unnecessary form fields. Add testimonials, reviews, and logos. Remove distractions. Make the initial step really easy.Is a 15% conversion rate good? ›
A good conversion rate is above 10%, with some businesses achieving an average of 11.45%. Earning a good conversion rate places your company in the top 10% of global advertisers, which makes your conversion rate two to five times better than the average conversion rate.Is a 30% conversion rate good? ›
The best conversion rates for landing pages were nearly 30 percent, while the median conversion rates hovered at around 4 percent across industries. What does this tell you about your landing pages? You must use web optimization tools to increase your chances of converting visitors.What is a realistic sales conversion rate? ›
Less than 10% seems like a good sales conversion rate as the majority of the experts we surveyed say that their current sales conversion rate is somewhere less than 10%. Research also concludes that around 10% is a good sales conversion rate with the average conversion rate across industries being 2.5%.Is conversion rate a good KPI? ›
The conversion rate is a crucial KPI not only for your PPC campaigns but also for your website and landing page performance.Do blogs increase conversion? ›
It's highly unlikely that you'll get instant conversions from blog content, but you can still set up your blog posts for conversion success by creating topic clusters, using well-designed CTAs, and creating lead magnets that bring valuable people into your email marketing funnel that are more likely to convert.How do you write a high conversion blog post? ›
- Know Your Target Audience. ...
- Create Content That Is Timely. ...
- Conduct Keyword Research. ...
- Write For Readability. ...
- Use An Attention-Grabbing Headline. ...
- Include Visual Media. ...
- Make A Call To Action. ...
- Boost Blog Post Credibility.
On average, bloggers make around $45,000—with most bloggers earning somewhere between $38,440 to $51,906. However, there are a lot of variables that'll influence how much money you make blogging, so keep reading and I'll explain how to set the right expectations for your blog income.Can you make 10k a month blogging? ›
Do you need millions of visitors to your blog every month? You can make a great full-time income with just a few thousand blog visitors per month. My wife and I make between $10,000 and $15,000 from our blog every month and we only have about 9,000 monthly visitors to our main site.How many views per day is good for a blog? ›
Getting over 1,000 views per day is good for a blog.
If you are trying to monetize your blog, getting more than 1,000 unique visitors every day is an excellent goal – anything below that gets more difficult to monetize. Don't get discouraged if you don't get this right away, though.
What is Walmart's conversion rate? ›
Similarweb data suggests that Walmart's conversion rate improved during the second quarter, from 7.1% to 7.23%. That's a big leap from Q4's 6.53% and the 4.8% CVR recorded in 2Q20. The takeaway: this is a bullish signal for the sustainability of Walmart's e-business and market competitiveness.What is a healthy ecommerce conversion rate? ›
What is a Good Ecommerce Conversion Rate? Average ecommerce conversion rates are around 2.5-3%. Even if you are doing everything right, you can still expect to win the sale around 2-3% of the time. A 3%-plus conversion rate should be the baseline goal for your online store.What is a good online conversion rate? ›
An average conversion rate for a website is between 2 percent and 5 percent. Website conversion rates higher than 5% are considered to be “good” or above the average.Is 1% a good conversion rate? ›
Most industry leaders consider 2-3% to be the average conversion rate for online stores, meaning that 20-30 people out of every 1,000 visitors should take an action. You might also find reports saying that 5% is more accurate for eCommerce stores, while 1% is still an acceptable rate.Is a 3.5% conversion rate good? ›
What is a good conversion rate? While an average conversion rate is usually around 2% to 3.5%, a good conversion rate is higher. To determine a good conversion rate, we refer to websites that are in the top 10% of conversions, which have conversion rates of at least 11.45%.What is a good lead conversion rate? ›
A “great” lead-to-opportunity conversion rate varies by industry, business, and even marketing strategy. But most lead-to-opportunity conversion rates hover around 12% on average.What is a good conversion rate for Google? ›
“Generally, you should see a 5-10% conversion rate in high-performing ad accounts. However, there are many cases where it can be under 5%, and the ad account is still in great shape.What is a good conversion rate from free to paid? ›
What is a good Trial Conversion Rate benchmark? For opt-in free trials, a good conversion rate benchmark is 25%. For opt-out free trials, a good free trial conversion rate benchmark is 60%.How many clicks before a sale on Amazon? ›
So each click has a cost. Ideally, you want the number of clicks that a single product has to be no more than 10. That means a 10% conversion rate (one out of every ten clicks results in a sale). So if you divide the $7.50 by 10 clicks, that's $0.75 per click, or 2.5% of the product's price.What is a good conversion rate for B2B? ›
What is a Good Conversion Rate for B2B? An acceptable average conversion rate should be somewhere between 2%-5%. For some industries, the ideal conversion rate could be around 10% or more. Conversion rates vary based on your industry and which product or service your company is selling.
What affects conversion rate? ›
Conversion rate is also affected by page design, page layout, the text and images on the page, and so on. If it's not clear to a page visitor what action they should take next, or if too many options are presented, they may bounce from the page.What is conversion rate examples? ›
Conversion rates are calculated by simply taking the number of conversions and dividing that by the number of total ad interactions that can be tracked to a conversion during the same time period. For example, if you had 50 conversions from 1,000 interactions, your conversion rate would be 5%, since 50 ÷ 1,000 = 5%.What are the long term methods to boost conversion rate? ›
Aim for high ratings and positive reviews
Products that are highly reviewed by many buyers have higher credibility. Aim for a high rating by ensuring good product quality, prompt delivery, and good customer service.
Conversion rate optimization is important because it allows you to lower your customer acquisition costs by getting more value from the visitors and users you already have. By optimizing your conversion rate you can increase revenue per visitor, acquire more customers, and grow your business.What is the conversion rate for Shopify blog? ›
According to Littledata's February 2022 data, 1.8% is the average conversion rate for Shopify.What is the average Etsy conversion rate? ›
What's A Good Conversion Rate On Etsy? The average conversion rate is about 1-3% on Etsy. In recent years, conversion rate on Etsy has decreased because of more sellers joining the platform. Competitive niches like jewelry and clothing see a wide range of conversion rates among sellers.Does conversion rate affect SEO? ›
Because keyword usage is such a small part of getting your SEO right, and having high engagement, good conversion rates is such a big part of getting SEO right.What are some key indicators for a high low conversion rate? ›
- Unique and Returning Visitors. ...
- MQL to SQL Ratio. ...
- Email Marketing Performance. ...
- Bounce Rate. ...
- Cost Per Conversion. ...
- Time Spent On Page. ...
- Points of Entry (and Exit)
In Google Analytics, the goal conversion rate is calculated as the number of goal conversions divided by the number of sessions, times 100. For example: if your ecommerce goal is 'Purchase completed', every time a purchase is completed it will count as a goal conversion.What is a typical B2B conversion rate? ›
On average, the B2B conversion rate for organic searches varies between 0.7% and 5.9%, depending on the industry. B2B Tech has an average conversion rate of 1.0%, B2B eCommerce has recently reached 4.0%, whereas B2B services have a conversion average of 7.0%. It's challenging to convert leads from organic searches.
What is a realistic conversion rate? ›
Less than 10% seems like a good sales conversion rate as the majority of the experts we surveyed say that their current sales conversion rate is somewhere less than 10%. Research also concludes that around 10% is a good sales conversion rate with the average conversion rate across industries being 2.5%.How do you optimize conversion rate? ›
- Use a strong color for all CTA (call-to-action) buttons.
- Place CTAs above the fold.
- Use urgency (e.g., time-limited offers) to drive sales.
- Always display testimonials.
- Use fewer form fields on your forms.
An average conversion rate for a website is between 2 percent and 5 percent. Website conversion rates higher than 5% are considered to be “good” or above the average. Moreover, top brands in many sectors enjoy much better results than 5 percent.What is Netflix conversion rate? ›
Well, it's no surprise that Netflix has an astounding 93% conversion rate on free trials. This is incredible, even compared to Amazon Prime Video, which still sits at an impressive 73%.Is 15% a good conversion rate? ›
The average website conversion rate can vary greatly depending on the industry, the type of website, and the specific goals of the website. For lead generation websites that specifically exist to convert visitors into qualified leads, a good conversion rate is usually around 10-15% but could also be much higher.What is the average Google conversion rate? ›
The average conversion rate across all industries for search ads is 4.2%, while for display ads, it's 0.55%.What is the average SEO conversion rate? ›
According to our internal data, the average SEO conversion rate is 2.4%. This means that, if 100 people come to a particular page on your website from SEO, 2 or 3 of them will perform a conversion action such as a form fill, white paper download, or e-mail list signup.